Cleaning up


Cleaning up or Cleaning out?

It is almost like asking if the glass is half full or half empty. After over thirteen years at the same job, I am leaving to go on an adventure. New horizon of skills to learn. Although I am excited I find the hardest part is the cleaning out or cleaning up after years of the accumulation of stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am a pack rat/hoarder when it comes to little things. bent paper clips, old lost keys, even a tie clip or two I have found amongst my treasures, or pens and pencils, as well as old business cards. hmm I wonder if other secretaries find this much accumulation of treasures when they clean out their offices..

The offices that have been shared with every person who wanted to store something, or the ‘its just convenient to store it here for a while.’ You see it’s not just the desk. It is the drawers, the filing cabinets, the paper boxes under the desk you were just ‘storing’ things in, just in case you needed them again. It is all the tools that never seemed to make it back to the tool closet, and the dried up markers someone thought you might just need.

The most remembered word people have used to explain using the office for a storage spot is ‘Awhile’. That’s a word that seems to have a meaning of infinity of time. for always and forever, never a real time set. Just thought I would plop that in here. ๐Ÿ˜€

Again I have to smile as I take out the old screwdrivers and old computer equipment that should have been stored or thrown out long ago but were misplaced and forgotten. like so manyย  other things in our lives.

I have mixed feelings as I go through the drawers and boxes, throwing out what I know no one will use again, and store away the stuff that will probably be used next month. I run down memory lane. it is a mixed cold and warm lane, filled with sadness and much, much joy. From the first phone call to the my last one in a couple of days I have learnt so much. I hope to write it all down one day. All the mishaps, the laughter, the births, and the deaths. The many hugs and see my treasures, the kids have shared with me over the years. The graduations, including my own from high school at age 47. The kids leaving on missions trips, the floods, not jsut the one outside the building, the mens toilet, and ruining a good pare of shoes cleaning it up. ๐Ÿ™‚ All these memories and more will always have a special part of my heart.

About Pamela M. Loykowski-Durkee

born in 1959, loves to be creative, loves the great out doors.. When I met God my life changed. I now have hope and a brand new life. Of the many names I have, the one I love most of all is, Child of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

