Adenture Day Begins


I am excited today is our first Spring Adventure Day. I usually only put on a Winter Adventure day. The children asked if we could have a spring one so I thought why not.

An Adventure day/afternoon is an event that children ages 6 to 12 are given addressed invitations to. They spend the afternoon playing games, getting face painted, receiving challenges, eating lots and lots of different food, learning teamwork, and most of all having fun. After all it is a fun day. The kids go home tired and smiling. Well that is the plan. We do have the off one who is very sleepy when the parent arrives.

I used to have kids ages 3 to 9, but felt a calling to up the ages to 12 year old. We Challenge the children to work together, to make decisions, to story tell, to challenge each other through their own behaviour. To build up leadership qualities in the kids. I have not been disappointed. Some of the children who have joined the Adventure day activities have come back and volunteered their time to guide small groups and help all around. I enjoy watching them all grow up.

Today’s event is different somewhat as we have invited many that have never been before and we don’t know them at all. I don’t even know what their behaviours will be. Nor, if they are the techno generation or have play attributes. A challenge for me and for them. If they are of the tv computer games Techno the challenge will be to play games that they have never heard of and to have no techno games. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am looking forward to building up their skills. We also have Adults who have joined us as volunteers, and we have received donations to help make this day an Adventure to enjoy. This event is going to be awesome. It is a shame the weather doesn’t agree. ๐Ÿ™‚ or does it? Can theyย  play in the rain? Can they get muddy and not get mad? The mud puddles just call out. Jump in me. ๐Ÿ˜€

I love the fun, the games, the laughter. Watching a child achieve a goal set for them at their own pace is an experience I well enjoy.

for Example: in the Winter Adventure we challenged the kids to make mechano cars and toothpick and clay bridges. They still are not finished.ย  Today’s challenge how how high can you build a cup tower before it falls down. Can you make it strong enough to stand a light wind or maybe a heavy wind. Only time will tell. I will post pictures later.

Well for now I have to go and get ready. God bless you all ๐Ÿ™‚

About Pamela M. Loykowski-Durkee

born in 1959, loves to be creative, loves the great out doors.. When I met God my life changed. I now have hope and a brand new life. Of the many names I have, the one I love most of all is, Child of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

