What a Month June was.


I have had such a wonderful time this past month. My hubby and I drove to Northern Saskatchewan to visit our brother and sister Dave and Sandra. We drove off road, unscheduled and unplanned of course, with our Honda Fit. My work days have changed (for the best I think). We fished in the rain and its raining in Vancouver. Well it feels it is always raining in Vancouver. 🙂

We had a wonderful time traveling across the Rocky mountains into and through Alberta to Saskatchewan. We stopped several times to take in the breath taking scenery we came across, from snow covered mountain peaks peeking through clouds to rushing rivers that once were labeled creeks. We saw Moose yearlings, goats that climbed up ladders, gophers that loved the carrots my hubby tossed to them. come to think of it, so did the goats he feed carrots to as well. 🙂 Seems the carrots are a favorite. We also saw Caribou up close and were they ever big, we felt our little Honda was rather short in the height comparison chart. They looked almost as big as the Moose yearlings we saw, But then my sight could have been playing tricks on me. They were a whole lot larger than I would have ever guessed. We also were blessed with seeing a herd of mountain goats and a beaver swimming in a pond, a rarity I was told.

As for the off road trip, it was unplanned of course. We were driving through Jasper park when I truck and trailer pulled in front of us without warning and my gifted hubby swerved to miss it and in the process we landed at the bottom of the embankment. We thank God we were not hurt, nor was the car damaged. We were blessed indeed. As well as little Beep was up for the off road challenge. What surprised me was that nothing in the back of the car slipped forward. only some loose papers came flying into the front seat.

My work days have changed to having Friday’s off now from Wednesdays. This is nice as I can get the house work done and rest properly. I am still adjusting to working four days in a row. At 9 hours I get paid for 8, one hour for lunch. I am so spoilt. 🙂 I am still gone 11 hours from home. a long time with this body. But I am getting a lot more work done as I can keep up with what is needed and when it is needed. Nice.

Yesterday, Canada day Monday, my hubby and I took the afternoon to get some fishing done and get out of the house. I was feeling a bit cabin feverish. It was wet.  We were prepared, we took our rain suits and a tarp and fished in muddy waters near Chilliwack, the water levels were high and the big fishes were flip flopping on the other side of the waterway in a wildlife reserve where we cannot fish. 😦 not amused. I did catch some funny looking fish. A bullhead, two sun fishes, and a far to small to keep whitefish. I did get a chuckle out of the birds. Seems this crow was not amused with the Bald eagle so it pestered  him all afternoon. It did not matter where the old Eagle flew and what branch he settled on, the Crow would land above him and chatter at him all afternoon until another crow, We figured it was the wifey squawked rather loudly and he flew directly to it and left the Eagle with some peace. It was amusing i must say.

As for raining in Vancouver, enough said.

Have a great night all.

About Pamela M. Loykowski-Durkee

born in 1959, loves to be creative, loves the great out doors.. When I met God my life changed. I now have hope and a brand new life. Of the many names I have, the one I love most of all is, Child of God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a Month June was.

  1. Ron says:

    I Love You Pamela

Leave a Reply

